Cowboy Stew & Cornbread

This is a great recipe, at least I think so. It was shared with me and Billie when Lynn was preaching a revival at our church. Billie and Lynn shared a number of recipes through the years. (I think some of them may have actually been Delores’ recipes and Lynn borowed them.)

Cowboy Stew

1 to 1 ½ lbs. Ground meat

1         Onion (Chopped)

1         Bell Pepper (Chopped)

4         T Chili Powder (I only use 2)

1         T Garlic Powder

2         15 oz. Cans Veg-All

2         15 oz. Can stewed tomatoes (I use petite-diced)

1         15 oz. Can Cream Style Corn

1         15 oz. Can Ranch Style Beans

Brown ground meat in a large pot. Salt to suit your taste. Chop the onion and bell pepper and add them, the chili powder and garlic powder to the meat as it browns.

When the above is ready add the Veg-All (do not drain), tomatoes, corn, and beans. Rinse the cans to make about 2 full cans of water and add to the stew. Simmer until it is good and hot and it is ready to eat.

It’s great the first day and better the second day. The good thing is, you can make it from start to finish in about 30 minutes.

— from a great friend Lynn Stephens

James’ Cornbread

Set oven temp at 450० add skillet with olive oil

1/4  Cup Olive Oil (heat in oven in iron skillet until smoking hot)

1  Cup Stone Ground Corn Meal (I use Lamb’s)

1  Cup Flour

1  teaspoon salt

3  teaspoons baking powder

1/2  teaspoon soda

2  Tablespoons sugar

1  Egg

1 1/2  Cup buttermilk

Mix: Corn meal, flour, baking powder, soda, salt and sugar in bowl.

ADD beaten egg and buttermilk.

When oil is piping hot pour into batter stirring real well.

Pour into skillet and bake at 450E degree oven, 25 minutes or until golden brown.

I love to crumble a piece of cornbread in my bowl and cover it with Cowboy Stew. My, my, my, sooooo goood.

Leave a comment