A Reason for Praise

William Cowper (1731-1800) wrote many great hymns, among them was “There Is a Fountain.” He wrote this hymn based on the scripture Zechariah 13:1, “In that day a fountain shall be opened for the house of David and for the inhabitants of Jerusalem, for sin and for uncleanness.” (NKJV)

As I read and meditate on this scripture and hymn my heart is blessed. I can see a sermon in each stanza of the hymn and they all point to what the Lord Jesus did for us on the Cross. This is a personal testimony of praise for what Christ has done for me.
As you read and think on these words may they fill your heart with praise to the one who shed His blood “…for sin and for uncleanness.” If you do not know Him, may God, the Holy Spirit, open your heart to see your sin and lead you to repent and believe in the Lord Jesus Christ.
  There is a fountain filled with blood drawn from Immanuel’s veins, and sinners plunged beneath that flood lose all their guilty stains.
  The dying thief rejoiced to see that fountain in his day, and there may I, though vile as he, wash all my sins away.
  Dear dying Lamb, Thy precious blood shall never lose its pow’r, till all the ransomed Church of God be saved to sin no more.
  E’er since by faith I saw the stream Thy flowing wounds supply, redeeming love has been my theme and shall be till I die.
  When this poor lisping, stamm’ring tongue lies silent in the grave, then in a nobler, sweeter song, I’ll sing Thy pow’r to save.

Leave a comment